Bipartisan Thanks to the Legislative Branch

Click here to download a PDF of the letter.

The Honorable Tim Ryan
H-306, The Capitol
Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Jamie Herrera Beutler
2352 Rayburn House Office Building
Washington, DC 20515

Dear Chairman Ryan, Ranking Member Herrera Beutler, and Members of the Legislative Branch Appropriations Committee:

We write in deep appreciation of your efforts to strengthen the legislative branch. The FY 2021 Legislative Branch Appropriations bill and accompanying report constitute a remarkable step forward in rebuilding Congress’s legislative, oversight, and constituent service capacities, and making the legislative branch more open, inclusive, accountable, modern, and responsive. You have made a real investment in the modern legislature that we need.

The legislation contains scores of constructive measures and lays the groundwork for further dramatic improvements. We will be closely following along as they are implemented and cheering you onward every step of the way. We hope that you will think of us as partners in building a democracy that serves all Americans. You have accomplished a great deal, and there is still much more to do.

Thank you for the opportunity to participate in the legislative process, for your leadership, and for all that which lies ahead.

Sincerely yours,

Demand Progress
Bipartisan Policy Center Action
College to Congress
Congressional Management Foundation
Democracy Fund Voice
Free Government Information
Government Accountability Project
Issue One
Lincoln Network
NALEO Educational Fund
National Security Counselors
Open The Government
Partnership for Public Service
Pay Our Interns
Project On Government Oversight
Protect Democracy
R Street Institute
Senior Executives Association (SEA)
Taxpayers for Common Sense
Norman Ornstein, American Enterprise Institute*
Lorelei Kelly, Beeck Center for Social Impact +
Innovation at Georgetown*
Rick Shapiro, Former Executive Director of the
Congressional Management Foundation (CMF)*
Marci Harris, POPVOX Inc*
Casey Burgat, The George Washington University*
Beth Simone Noveck, The GovLab/New York
Kevin M. Esterling, University of California, Riverside

Affiliations listed for identification purposes only

Tags: ,

Short Description
Social Links
Dan Lips
Head of Policy
Zach Graves
Executive Director
Grace Meyer
Chief Operating Officer
Marshall Kosloff
Media Fellow
Luke Hogg
Director of Outreach